How To: Load Gmail Faster

26Apr08

Hi guys, of late, gmail has been loading very slowly for me. This means that, when ever I give my username and password at the login screen, after successful login, the screenshot shown below displays.

Gmail Loads Slowly
[Click to see a bigger version]

When that happens we hate to wait for infinitely long times. So, I discovered a simple hack through which you can eliminate that screen.

Notice that the address bar contains the URL of the format http://mail.google.com/mail?auth=DQAA etc.

Now, all you have to do is, change the “http://” in your browser’s address bar to “https://”, which means the URL will now look like https://mail.google.com/mail?auth=DQAA etc. Press Enter. Gmail loads faster.



48 Responses to “How To: Load Gmail Faster”

  1. To be honest, I wasn’t sure GMail was loading slowly anyway, although I thought I’d give your hack a try. Didn’t seem to make a lot of difference, sorry.

    db

  2. David, if you have been getting the message that I have shown in the screenshot everyday, then you will know what I’m talking about🙂

  3. That works! Cool, thanks.

  4. 4 Andy

    @Damien

    We at Bothack are glad it worked.

  5. 5 Carlos

    For that reason never I have used gmail, is very slow…
    http://adartenews.blogspot.com

  6. Hi Dear,
    great tip..Gmial really takes extra time to upload..
    Im going to try it.

    Take care

  7. 7 Andy

    @Shruthi,

    Thanks. Have fun.

  8. Are you psychic? Thanks!

  9. thanx
    this really make it loads faster

  10. i think i need to swith from yahoo to google

  11. yeah i get it all the time too!
    thanks for the tip .. it’ll make life a lot easier🙂

  12. i dont have any idea about how my gmail works .to know information on hacking software visit hacking

  13. Tahnks, Great idea.

  14. Thanks, Great idea.

  15. Whooooow, thank you! This sometimes happens when I use a dial up connection. I just tried it out and it does work. Thanks again!

  16. lol
    i have slow speed
    It will effect when u have good speed
    at my slow speed no effect

  17. Oh thanx bro this helps but i dont use gmail as much as yahoo

  18. 19 win lin naing

    HI,

    use glite, example http://www.arlarlar.com. it is very fast. But don’t forget to sign out after used.

    Best,
    Win Lin Naing

  19. Your blog is nice. I think you should add your blog at http://www.blogadda.com and let more people discover your blog. It’s a great place for Indian bloggers to be in and I am sure it would do wonders for your blog.

  20. 21 Joe

    Hmmm, seems cool.

    Joe joestain13@yahoo.com

  21. Conveying such information is a good professional service, Keep up the good work!

  22. Hi. Thanks for the information. It really works nice. For those who are using slow internet connection its really good for them. But for the persons with fast internet connection, they might not experience the difference. I really wants to appreciate you for this great idea.

  23. i never try this before.. But it is work faster… I found little faster so i really thank’s the information and good information will connect the good person

  24. Hi,

    Thanks for the google load information.I like it this work.

  25. Really fantastica Blog!

    When i am working with google , I too feel it…..

  26. 27 Suchintha

    Thanks for your advice. Its very usefull for me.

  27. it worked for me too.

    thanks a lot and keep up the good work!!!

  28. 29 Wayne

    I can’t even get gmail to load on Windows Vista or rather I can get it loaded but I can’t retrieve my mail. I have tried all different settings but but nothing works on Vista. I have a comcast account and have no problems with it.

  29. 30 YOU ARE ALL DUMB

    YOU ALL ARE IDIOTS.

    THE NEW VERSION OF GMAIL IS TOO DAMN SLOW. THE NEW GMAIL IS NOW PRELOADING THE EMAIL. THAT IS TAKING GMAIL TOO LONG TO LOAD. IT’S STUPID. GMAIL HAS BECOME TOO DAMN F*CKING SLOW SLOW SLOW SLOW.

    GO BACK TO THE OLD GMAIL: https://mail.google.com/mail/?ui=1

  30. 31 Nghi

    You are my hero! Like, Locke from Reckless Life hero!

  31. 32 Tina

    I find it very useful information and it helps.

    All the best.

    Tina

  32. 33 zomf

    Yes it’s working🙂 Thanks men

  33. 34 Nathan

    Very helpful. Thanks!

  34. Thanks. Have fun.

  35. great post and all this comments are too comprehendible

  36. genius….great post !!
    thanxs dude

  37. 38 Bryan Eastin

    Fabulous! My gmail wasn’t loading at all.

  38. great post

  39. no change😐

  40. here i find really very interesting info, so thank you very much to everyone

  41. 42 Newton

    Thanks a lot! It works!

  42. it really works
    thankx a lot😉

  43. 44 liz k.

    Yo!… it works! i had been so frustrated just waiting for it to load and wasting so much time. thanks so much for this great tip!!!
    liz

  44. 45 WIm

    When I add the ‘s’ to the http address as suggested, it sure works for me. However, when I enter that site first of all a pop-up appears warning me of a safety certificate not being in place. I ignored that warning and continue and accessed gmail faster than ever.

    However, I’ continued wondering about the safety certificate. Could I assume that I can safely ignore that warning?

    I’ve now found the solution to bypass the safety certificate warning by accessing Gmail as follows:

    https://mail.google.com/mail/#inbox

    It works like a dream!

  45. 46 Doug

    You’re a frickin’ genuis!🙂 Thanks, it was driving me crazy and now fixed :))

  46. If you want to take a good deal from this post then you hve
    to apply these techniques to your won blog.

  47. Hi, after reading this amaszing post i am as well glad to share my know-how here with colleagues.


Leave a Reply

