What does it take to be on top?

21Aug06

I came across this competition at Shaastra 2006The Google Event. The crux of the event is “Get a site – SEO it and make sure when a combination of the search string provided by co-ords is googled, your site pops up first.” All this in one month.

Search Engine Optimization. Three words – the whole worlds breaking their heads on. Plenty of tools are available to optimize your site and make it search engine friendly. Most of the tips you find online revolve around three things: 1) Good content 2) Neat template and 3) Periodical updation.

But is that all to it. What if I was participating in an event as the above, where I barely have a month to create a site from scratch and also make sure the search engine found me for a given string. Most tips online talk about long term SEO. Are there any SEO techniques which which will help you peak shoot the site for a short while? Nope.

The only tips I could find were:
1) Submit your site to lot of directories and search engines.
2) Keep updating very often.
3) Ping!
4) Use tags.
5) Write sense. No point filling your site with a bunch of keywords.

But thats just not enough! Are there ways to improve your SEO quickly? Please list your favorite techniques in the comments.

Technorati Tags: , , ,



4 Responses to “What does it take to be on top?”

  1. Its likoe you learn my thoughts! You appear to know so much about this, like you
    wrote the book in it orr something. I feel that you just could do
    with somne percent to drive the message home a little bit, however other than that, that is fantastic blog.

    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  2. Thanks , I havee just been searching for information approximately this topic for ages and yours is the best
    I have found out so far. But, what in regfards to the bottom line?
    Are you certain about the supply?

  3. My relatives always say tgat I aam killing my time here at web, however I know I am getting
    experience daily by reading thes nice posts.

  4. Right away I am going to do my breakfast, once having my breakfast coming yet again to read more
    news.


Leave a Reply

