DOM Inspector, Talkback not compatible with Firefox update

03Aug06

This is a problem faced by many Firefox users. After updating Firefox to either version 1.5.0.5 or 1.5.0.6, the DOM inspector and Talkback extensions do not work. The error message is “Disabled – not compatible with Firefox 1.5.0.6” (or 1.5.0.5).

This problem can easily be rectified. All you need to do is delete the files extensions.ini, extensions.rdf and extensions.cache in the Application Data>Mozilla folder and then restart Firefox.

The Apllication data folder in Windows is usually a hidden folder and you will need to change you folder settings to display hidden files and folders. The path to the folder in which the files are present in Windows is by default

C:\Documents and Settings\<User Name>\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\za2zf3vr.default\

Get Firefox!

5 Responses to “DOM Inspector, Talkback not compatible with Firefox update”

  1. 1 TJ

    Thanks! This is exactly what I was looking for… I couldn’t figure out how my DOM Inpector could be out dated… doesn’t it come with FF? lol Oh well, thanks again. 😀

  2. 2 Francis

    I tried this workaround on 1.5.0.6, but failed. still incompatible 😦

  3. @Francis:
    I’m not sure what the problem could be, because it worked perfectly for 1.5.0.5 and 1.5.0.6 updates when I tried it. Make sure you delete all three files and restart firefox.

  4. 4 James Helm

    Thank you: works a treat and enables so much development diagnositcs again!

    Thanks again.

  5. 5 Eddie

    Thank you so much! The only hitch I had was that I forgot to unload firefox entirely. (I have a standalone program called “Firefox preloader” that keeps firefox loaded in memory so that it always starts quickly). I had forgotten that it was still in memory, so the first time I tried this fix, it didn’t work. All I had to do, though, was reload firefox using Firefox Preloader’s “Reload Firefox” function.

    Thanks for posting this; since I am a web developer, I really need the DOM Inspector to work.


Leave a Reply

